Pages


Monday, September 1, 2014

August Wrap Up

Hey Everyone!

I hope all of you have had a good month. Mine was definitely a rough one.

My August wasn't so great. My niece is allergic to any kind of bug bite. She went to a friend's house and got bit by something on her hand, lip and close to her eye and now all those areas are really swollen. Usually a bite bump turns into one of those puss filled bumps, but her entire hand is swollen. So now she has to go to the doctor. Also, my mom hurt her thumb in early July and it's only gotten worse. She went to the doctor for the like the third time since July because she's been having trouble moving her thumb and now they're recommending her to see a doctor about possible nerve damage We have no clue what's going to happen with that.

But on to bookish news! I managed to read 5 books this month. I only read 2 books in July so this is definitely a step up :) I'm still fighting the reading slump though, but it has gotten better which I'm really happy about. I hope September is a good month and my dad's birthday is on the 7th so things should hopefully be good with that.

How was your month? lol I hope it was better than mine!

Books Read
All the books I read this month were pretty good and I really enjoyed them :)

Sorry about the lack of commenting I've doing lately! Things have been really stressful around here, but I'm trying to get back on my blogging and reading.

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Waiting On Wednesday (34): Be Not Afraid


Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is

Be Not Afraid
by Cecilia Galante
Releases |April 28th 2015 by Random House Books for Young Readers|
Marin spends a lot of time avoiding things. She avoids thinking about her mother's suicide and what she could have done to prevent it. She avoids looking at people directly-because she can see their pain as bright, colorful shapes. And she avoids Cassie Jackson, who used her in a sinister ritual months ago, although Marin's not exactly sure why.
When Cassie stands up at school, screaming, raking her nails down her cheeks, and pointing a finger at Marin, whispering "YOU," Marin's days of avoidance come to an abrupt end. Cassie's older brother believes that Marin holds the secret to Cassie's illness. So they team up to solve the mystery of what Cassie has unleashed. But as they look deeper into the darkness and things begin to go bump in the night, can Marin trust what she sees?
Cecilia Galante, author of The Patron Saint of Butterflies, presents a chilling story with horror-movie thrills and nail-biting suspense. Perfect for fans of American Horror Story, Paranormal Activity, and The Exorcist, and readers who love to feel goose bumps.
Story Locale: Fairfield, Connecticut; Present Day
Why I'm Waiting...
I don't typically read books like this, but I don't know, why not try it out. It sounds pretty interesting and kind of weird in a creepy way. 

Monday, August 25, 2014

Taste of Darkness by Katie Reus

Taste of Darkness
(Darkness, #2)
by Katie Reus
Released |July 24th 2014|
Edition |eARC|

Source |Netgalley|
Add to Goodreads
He spent more than a thousand years imprisoned in hell…
Drake is an ancient dragon shifter, one of the most powerful beings in existence, but a millennium trapped in utter darkness has left him ill-equipped for modern society. If it wasn’t for Victoria, the sweet female brave enough to befriend him, he’d be lost. She’s smart and gorgeous and everything he never dared dream of during his years of agonizing loneliness. He may not have anything to offer her, but one thing he knows for sure: he’d die to keep her safe.
Only to fall into the heaven of her touch.
Victoria is a wolf shifter, healer of the Stavros pack. She’s seen a lot, but she’s never met anybody quite like Drake, the fiery, fascinating shifter who can blaze through the skies unseen by mere mortals. He’s lost, dangerous, and the last male she should fall in love with, but the more time she spends helping him navigate modern life, the deeper—and hotter—their connection becomes. She’s thrilled when they finally locate his family, but reuniting with his people plunges them both into unimaginable danger. It’s a race against the clock trying to figure out who wants them dead and who they can trust, especially when the threat is closer than they ever imagined.
Taste of Darkness was a very refreshing read for me. I remember reading book one and ended up really enjoying it, but I have to say that I definitely liked book two a little bit better. I found that I enjoyed being with the characters a lot and I absolutely loved the romance. Also, the fact that there are dragon shifters in this book just made my day. I flew through Taste of Darkness in almost one sitting and ended up finishing it in a day. Considering the story follows different set of characters than book one, you could definitely read this one as a standalone, but I'd recommend reading book one because that's where the characters were first introduced.

Saturday, August 23, 2014

Book Hauling It Up (106)

Hey everyone,

I hope you've all had a great week :) I finally had one! I read 3 books this week. Wait, what? I know right?! I finally found the urge to read after so long :) I really hope I can keep it up. It felt great to be back into stories again. Hopefully the slump is no more! Since I finished 2 review books, I didn't feel bad for requesting one on netgalley after I said I was going to try not to lol

For Review
I now I said I was going to try not to request books for a little while two weeks ago, but I had to get this!