Pages


Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Waiting On Wednesday (34): Be Not Afraid


Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine
"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is

Be Not Afraid
by Cecilia Galante
Releases |April 28th 2015 by Random House Books for Young Readers|
Marin spends a lot of time avoiding things. She avoids thinking about her mother's suicide and what she could have done to prevent it. She avoids looking at people directly-because she can see their pain as bright, colorful shapes. And she avoids Cassie Jackson, who used her in a sinister ritual months ago, although Marin's not exactly sure why.
When Cassie stands up at school, screaming, raking her nails down her cheeks, and pointing a finger at Marin, whispering "YOU," Marin's days of avoidance come to an abrupt end. Cassie's older brother believes that Marin holds the secret to Cassie's illness. So they team up to solve the mystery of what Cassie has unleashed. But as they look deeper into the darkness and things begin to go bump in the night, can Marin trust what she sees?
Cecilia Galante, author of The Patron Saint of Butterflies, presents a chilling story with horror-movie thrills and nail-biting suspense. Perfect for fans of American Horror Story, Paranormal Activity, and The Exorcist, and readers who love to feel goose bumps.
Story Locale: Fairfield, Connecticut; Present Day
Why I'm Waiting...
I don't typically read books like this, but I don't know, why not try it out. It sounds pretty interesting and kind of weird in a creepy way. 

Monday, August 25, 2014

Taste of Darkness by Katie Reus

Taste of Darkness
(Darkness, #2)
by Katie Reus
Released |July 24th 2014|
Edition |eARC|

Source |Netgalley|
Add to Goodreads
He spent more than a thousand years imprisoned in hell…
Drake is an ancient dragon shifter, one of the most powerful beings in existence, but a millennium trapped in utter darkness has left him ill-equipped for modern society. If it wasn’t for Victoria, the sweet female brave enough to befriend him, he’d be lost. She’s smart and gorgeous and everything he never dared dream of during his years of agonizing loneliness. He may not have anything to offer her, but one thing he knows for sure: he’d die to keep her safe.
Only to fall into the heaven of her touch.
Victoria is a wolf shifter, healer of the Stavros pack. She’s seen a lot, but she’s never met anybody quite like Drake, the fiery, fascinating shifter who can blaze through the skies unseen by mere mortals. He’s lost, dangerous, and the last male she should fall in love with, but the more time she spends helping him navigate modern life, the deeper—and hotter—their connection becomes. She’s thrilled when they finally locate his family, but reuniting with his people plunges them both into unimaginable danger. It’s a race against the clock trying to figure out who wants them dead and who they can trust, especially when the threat is closer than they ever imagined.
Taste of Darkness was a very refreshing read for me. I remember reading book one and ended up really enjoying it, but I have to say that I definitely liked book two a little bit better. I found that I enjoyed being with the characters a lot and I absolutely loved the romance. Also, the fact that there are dragon shifters in this book just made my day. I flew through Taste of Darkness in almost one sitting and ended up finishing it in a day. Considering the story follows different set of characters than book one, you could definitely read this one as a standalone, but I'd recommend reading book one because that's where the characters were first introduced.

Saturday, August 23, 2014

Book Hauling It Up (106)

Hey everyone,

I hope you've all had a great week :) I finally had one! I read 3 books this week. Wait, what? I know right?! I finally found the urge to read after so long :) I really hope I can keep it up. It felt great to be back into stories again. Hopefully the slump is no more! Since I finished 2 review books, I didn't feel bad for requesting one on netgalley after I said I was going to try not to lol

For Review
I now I said I was going to try not to request books for a little while two weeks ago, but I had to get this!


Thursday, August 21, 2014

Fated - Release Day Blitz + Giveaway


The Fated
5 have come together to bring you a collection of five steamy new adult urban
fantasies about sacrifice, second chances, destiny and love against all odds.

With fan favorites from new adult and urban fantasy bestsellers Rachael Wade, Nikki Jefford, Stacey Marie Brown, Alyssa Rose Ivy and
Heather Hildenbrand.


Amazon US | Amazon UK | Barnes & Noble | iBooks 
***Availablefor a LIMITED TIME only!***
Five full-length novels only 99 cents.

Amaranth by Rachael Wade – Camille moves to
Southern Louisiana to escape her abusive past, not expecting to fall in love
and plummet into the world of Amaranth, a place of exile for reformed vampires.

Aurora Sky: Vampire
Hunter
by Nikki Jefford– Thanks to her rare blood type, Aurora’s forced to hunt vampiresin Alaska. Now Aurora’s only friends are groupies of the undead and the only
boy she can think about may very well be a vampire.

Darkness of Light by Stacey Marie Brown – Ember has never
fit in. After she lands herself in a facility for troubled teens, she meets the
darkly mysterious and hot as hell, Eli Dragen who is keeping secrets that can’t
stay hidden much longer.

Flight by Alyssa Rose Ivy – A summer in New Orleans
leads to a chance encounter with the infuriating yet alluring Levi. Allie finds herself at the center of a supernatural society
and forced to decide between following the path she has always trusted or
saving a city that might just save her.

Whisper by Heather Hildenbrand – Five months
after Whisper is released from the Skye View Wellness Center she stumbles upon an
unconscious boy at a bonfire party who holds the key to breaking her curse.