Pages


Monday, September 8, 2014

The Far Dawn by Kevin Emerson

The Far Dawn
(the Atlanteans, #3)
by Kevin Emerson
Released |August 26th 2014 by Katherine Tegen Books|
Edition |Earc|

Source |Edelweiss|
Add to Goodreads
The Three is a lie. The Three will fail.
Having barely escaped Desenna, Owen and Lilly are on their own now, two of the three Altaneans on a journey to find Atlantis and protect it from the selfish greed of their nemesis Paul and Project Elysium. The secrets buried in the ice ahead have the power to destroy not only the earth but the bond between Owen and Lilly, too. As time grows short and darkness overtakes the planet, Owen must face Paul’s greatest treachery yet.
Full of heartrending decisions, pulse-pounding action, and fascinating questions of science and ethics alike, The Far Dawn takes readers on an explosive journey through time and space. At the far ends of the earth, Owen must choose—does he save the planet, or the people he loves?
Perfect for fans of Ship Breaker and the City of Ember series, slightly younger teen readers, and classroom library shelves.
The Far Dawn was a great conclusion to the Atlantean trilogy and I'm glad decided to give the series a try way back when it first came out. Book one was a pretty good start to the trilogy and continued to get better in book 2 and 3. I believe this book had a great balance of everything especially with the action and the romance. There wasn't too much of one thing, but just a very good mix of everything. I was also glad for the refreshers in the beginning of the book to jog my memory of the previous book. Those are always welcome and appreciated! Overall, the trilogy was good and I thought it was really different from a lot of the things I've read.


I think my favorite part of the trilogy is how unique it is. It took me a little while to warm up to it, but now I really like how different it was. Book three wasn't any exception. I liked learning more and more about the world and the characters and then finally wrapping things up. The conclusion to the story was awesome and I felt as if all loose ends were tied. I didn't have any unanswered questions and was left with a feeling of satisfaction. Owen and Lilly, our two characters, are still out to complete their mission of making things right, but things were not easy and so many things went down. I liked all the twists and turns and the ending was very satisfying. I was happy with what the author did with it. Overall, as stated before, this book was really good. And it was an easy read with all the refreshers. There was action, romance, adventure, but there was also sad moments as well. You know, everything that keeps you turning the pages :)

I know the review is kind of short, but I don't want to give spoilers to the other books in the trilogy!


12 comments:

  1. Ohhh this one looks amazing! And a cover with actually people, lol XD Glad you really enjoyed this one and adding it to my TBR pile :)

    Happy Reading
    Patrick @ The Bookshelves

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'll have to check this trilogy out - unique, twists, and gets better with each book? That's enough to intrigue me!

    Nice review :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Glad there was a feeling of satisfaction with them

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too :) Sometimes you don't get that with final installments.

      Delete
  4. I haven't heard much form this series before but I love that this ending just worked for you and you got some much needed closure! Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I don't think I have heard of this trilogy but it seems rather interesting. I'm so happy that you enjoyed the last one. Great review, Janina :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Interesting it was :) I liked how different it was!

      Delete
  6. I read the first book in the trilogy and was a bit "meh" about it, but it sounds like it improves over time, so I'll definitely consider giving the 2nd and 3rd books a try. Thanks for sharing, and BRILLIANT review! <3

    ~ Zoe @ The Infinite To-Read Shelf

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The first book wasn't my favorite of three, but I do think it was still good. I don't think the trilogy would be for everyone though. I hope you give books 2 and 3 a try :) I really liked them!

      Delete